Tau bland in 8th?

Use this area for all discussions of the "gaming" aspect of 40K/Tau.
Maxwell
Shas'Saal

Tau bland in 8th?

Post#1 » Dec 15 2017 11:19

Serious question here (not a complaint) for the more tenured among us.

I just started playing in 8th (but picked up at the end off 7th) and picked my faction based upon advice from a more tenured player based on;
-knowing that I liked ranged/shooty stuff (in general prior experience)
-wanting to play a somewhat elite lower unit count force
-Tau aesthetics.
-unique Tau gameplay
-The lower unit coun, shooting focus, and ally table helped me pick Tau over my 2nd choice (Tyranid) but now Nids kept GSC which gets a detachment of Astra Militarum...and Tau gets Tau

At present, I am finding myself wondering if I'd rather have gone with a different faction because of the recent changes. Other factions have psyker phase (or similar), shooting phase and usually a variety of competent melee units thus allowing for some variety in builds.

Tau never had psykers (and I knew that) but I had heard that they had SOME decent melee units (surge, fusion blades, Farsight, etc), were great shooters and had a unique mechanic in JSJ. Speaking strictly from personal experience in 8th it feels like I'm playing a shooting only, but not that great at shooting, army. And that the lack of choices in missing psyker and melee units is not returned anywhere else.

I will admit it was retrospectively stupid to pick my faction right before the edition change...but in fairness I really had no idea how much things would change. Anyways, not trying to complain here, but looking for feedback and general discussion from tenured players on the state of things.

Thanks all :)

Yojimbob
Shas'Saal

Re: Tau bland in 8th?

Post#2 » Dec 15 2017 11:52

Maxwell wrote:Serious question here (not a complaint) for the more tenured among us.