Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Discuss any rules that are confusing or bothering you.
DVeight
Shas'La
Posts: 52

Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#1 » Jun 16 2017 06:55

So I have the rules finally in my hands. It's release day! Finally.

Anyways just wanted to share the sentence in the section "tools of war" which is before the core rules which states "all modifiers are cumulative".

So for instance if you had two commanders with drone controller and both were within 6" of a drone unit then that unit of drones benefits from both and their shooting would go from a 5+ to 3+.

This is key for us to be aware of.

User avatar
relasine
Shas'La
Posts: 27

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#2 » Jun 16 2017 07:10

Modifiers can be cumulative, but the wording for Drone Controller clearly identifies that it's not supposed to be cumulative. There is a cause ("Drone units within 6" of a model equipped with a drone controller"), and an effect ("add one to any hit rolls"). The cause is boolean; either you are within 6" of a model with a drone controller or you are not. There is nothing to indicate cumulative effect. If the rule was meant to be cumulative, it'd read more along the lines of:

"Friendly <Sept> Drone units add one to any hit roll for every model within 6" that is equipped with a drone controller".

It's worth noting how insane this would make Stealth teams were Drone Controllers cumulative.

User avatar
Vector Strike
Shas'La
Posts: 793

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#3 » Jun 16 2017 07:18

Do we have any example of cumulative wording in any of the indexes? Just for comparison

User avatar
relasine
Shas'La
Posts: 27

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#4 » Jun 16 2017 07:25

Vector Strike wrote:Do we have any example of cumulative wording in any of the indexes? Just for comparison

Markerlights, which specifically says that all benefits are cumulative.

Genestealer Patriach's Brood Telepathy rule is clearly cumulative with other Patriarchs. "You can add 1 to hit rolls in the Fight phase for friendly Purestrain Genestealer units that are within 6" of this model".

User avatar
Iron-Fist
Shas'Ui
Posts: 294

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#5 » Jun 16 2017 07:38

I guess I'm confused how "a model equipped with x" is different from "this model" in this context.

It doesn't say cumulative. It has the same "cause" (within a distance of a model) and effect (add 1 to a roll).
Augmented Puretide Council
The Tau Deathstar 2015: 8-1

User avatar
Vector Strike
Shas'La
Posts: 793

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#6 » Jun 16 2017 07:50

relasine wrote:Genestealer Patriach's Brood Telepathy rule is clearly cumulative with other Patriarchs. "You can add 1 to hit rolls in the Fight phase for friendly Purestrain Genestealer units that are within 6" of this model".


Doesn't seems to stack for me. It's missing an 'each' there.

User avatar
relasine
Shas'La
Posts: 27

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#7 » Jun 16 2017 08:01

Vector Strike wrote:
relasine wrote:Genestealer Patriach's Brood Telepathy rule is clearly cumulative with other Patriarchs. "You can add 1 to hit rolls in the Fight phase for friendly Purestrain Genestealer units that are within 6" of this model".


Doesn't seems to stack for me. It's missing an 'each' there.

It's the Purestrain Genestealers that are benefiting, not the Patriarch.

User avatar
Iron-Fist
Shas'Ui
Posts: 294

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#8 » Jun 16 2017 08:15

Drones benefit... please let drone controllers be cumulative please
Augmented Puretide Council
The Tau Deathstar 2015: 8-1

DVeight
Shas'La
Posts: 52

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#9 » Jun 16 2017 08:20

I will continue to beg to differ because the wording of "any" is a prefix to the hit rolls. Not to the model itself that has drone controller. For instance the Fireblade reads "models in sept units within 6" of any cadre fireblade". Here the word "any" sits as a prefix to the character model itself so it means that it doesn't matter how many fire blades you have the effect will not be cumulative.

The drone controller modifier reads totally different and the word "any" is before and relating to the hit rolls, not the modifier nor the model with that modifier. So ergo, the modifier is cumulative and in line with the core rules that state "all modifiers are cumulative".

User avatar
Vector Strike
Shas'La
Posts: 793

Re: Modifiers are cumulative. It's a thing!

Post#10 » Jun 16 2017 08:30

relasine wrote:
Vector Strike wrote:
relasine wrote:Genestealer Patriach's Brood Telepathy rule is clearly cumulative with other Patriarchs. "You can add 1 to hit rolls in the Fight phase for friendly Purestrain Genestealer units that are within 6" of this model".


Doesn't seems to stack for me. It's missing an 'each' there.

It's the Purestrain Genestealers that are benefiting, not the Patriarch.


Ah, my bad. I think they should've used 'to' instead of 'for', though.

Return to “Rules & FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest