Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Discuss tactical and strategic development for 40K/Tau.
User avatar
Panzer
Shas'La
Posts: 1823

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#21 » Jun 12 2017 03:25

heksagon wrote:Hello, this is my first post here! I have question about drones attached to Vehicles. Sorry if this question is dumb, but this is my very first try with a 40k and I have no experience with this system at all.

Attached Drones: "...drones are attached, and are treated as being embarked"

"If transport is destroyed, any units embarked within immediately disembark before transport model is removed, but ou must then roll one dice for..."

Well, does this rule apply to the Devilfish/Piranha/etc?

Yes.

User avatar
CDR_Farsight
Shas
Posts: 16

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#22 » Jun 13 2017 08:45

How do drones work sitting in Tidewall fortifications? As far as I can tell, all of the Tidewall fortification types allow for up to 10 models including any number of characters but only ONE non-character infantry unit to be embarked. Does this mean that an infantry unit with drones (say 8 Pathfinders with both GI and PA drones) may not deploy in a Tidewall since that would technically become two separate infantry units the second it is placed on the board? Or would you immediately have to disembark the drones when the Tidewall is placed?
To secure victory, the wise must adapt ~ Puretide

User avatar
Elphiel
Shas'La
Posts: 80
Contact:

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#23 » Jun 13 2017 09:43

Tidewall fortification structures are not allowed to transport drones compared to a devilfish. Only Infantry.

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'La
Posts: 1823

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#24 » Jun 13 2017 09:53

Since Drones are not even infantry I'd say they can't get deployed on a Tidewall at all.
Whether that means the Pathfinder could get deployed on a Tidewall and the Drones within 3" but outside of the Tidewall or whether it means that the Pathfinder unit can't get deployed on a Tidewall either if they have Drones with them is the tricky question though.

User avatar
CDR_Farsight
Shas
Posts: 16

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#25 » Jun 16 2017 05:37

I hope not carrying drones in Tidewalls was a rules oversight and not intentional. It would be pretty stupid fluff-wise to say infantry can't use or benefit from drones if they are in a Tidewall since it's been generalized as a "transport" now. It would also make Droneports, Defense Platforms, and to a lesser extent, Shield Walls, about worthless. The Gun Rig is still viable, because let's face it, no one gets a Gun Rig to make their gribblies more survivable or effective...they get it for the BFG!

There seem to be a lot of questions already out there about the various Tidewalls. Hopefully they FAQ them quickly (and favorably)!
To secure victory, the wise must adapt ~ Puretide

User avatar
Vector Strike
Shas'La
Posts: 793

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#26 » Jun 16 2017 05:52

CDR_Farsight wrote:I hope not carrying drones in Tidewalls was a rules oversight and not intentional. It would be pretty stupid fluff-wise to say infantry can't use or benefit from drones if they are in a Tidewall since it's been generalized as a "transport" now. It would also make Droneports, Defense Platforms, and to a lesser extent, Shield Walls, about worthless. The Gun Rig is still viable, because let's face it, no one gets a Gun Rig to make their gribblies more survivable or effective...they get it for the BFG!

There seem to be a lot of questions already out there about the various Tidewalls. Hopefully they FAQ them quickly (and favorably)!


the 'BFG' now only fires at BS5+. It's not really good anymore.

But I agree it might be an oversight to not let drones in. A lot of stuff is badly written or simply strange in the indexes.

User avatar
Yasu
Shas
Posts: 1

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#27 » Jun 19 2017 02:34

In our Russian forums arose question - in Manta Strike is written, that unit Set Up 2 times - first time in Manta, second on battlefield. But Drones have rule:
When a unit is set up, any accompanying Drones must
be placed in unit coherency with it. From that point
onwards, the accompanying Drones are treated as a
separate unit.

And they don't have rule to Deep Strike.
It means, that they stay in Manta Forever, or their rule triggered every time, when Set Up?

If every time - then for example for Y'Vahra after every using Escape Thrust will they be set up with Y'vahra? Will they restore if yes for previous question?

User avatar
Gragagrogog
Shas'La
Posts: 125

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#28 » Jun 19 2017 02:55

"Set up" in this context means actualy putting them on the battlefield (table). Until you put them on the table, they are a signle unit, after that they're separate. Y'Vahra has to be put on the table during pre-game deployment, when she uses her escape thrust, her drones stay on the table.
*

User avatar
Panzer
Shas'La
Posts: 1823

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#29 » Jun 19 2017 02:56

Yasu wrote:In our Russian forums arose question - in Manta Strike is written, that unit Set Up 2 times - first time in Manta, second on battlefield. But Drones have rule:
When a unit is set up, any accompanying Drones must
be placed in unit coherency with it. From that point
onwards, the accompanying Drones are treated as a
separate unit.

And they don't have rule to Deep Strike.
It means, that they stay in Manta Forever, or their rule triggered every time, when Set Up?

If every time - then for example for Y'Vahra after every using Escape Thrust will they be set up with Y'vahra? Will they restore if yes for previous question?

The Y'vahra idea doesn't work since the Drones don't join the Y'vahras Escape Thrust. They simply get left behind on the table and thus already are deployed when the Y'vahra comes back.

User avatar
Arka0415
Shas'La
Posts: 372

Re: Drones on 8th : Which ones/where?

Post#30 » Jun 19 2017 06:19

Panzer wrote:The Y'vahra idea doesn't work since the Drones don't join the Y'vahras Escape Thrust. They simply get left behind on the table and thus already are deployed when the Y'vahra comes back.


Drones getting left behind seems to be a recurring issue. Both the Coldstar and the Y'vahra tend to abandon their Drones. I guess these guys need to fend for themselves using invulnerable saves or FNP.

Return to “Tau Tactics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: derelictwinter and 4 guests